Another assertion anecdote 

I was put in mind if another brief anecdote re assertive language.  

About 12 years back, I was working as a delivery and installer of white goods,  my Porter was about 10 years my junior. I have to admit at this point I swear,  not a lot but I confess. Well the young lad said to me “would you mind not swearing so much, I really don’t like it, it’s making me uncomfortable!” 

I admired his confidence speaking to someone 10 years his senior, not knowing how I’d react, but thought nothing more of it. 

At the end of the week, he quit, but not because of me, in fact he approached me and said “thank you!” 

What for I enquired, not swearing from when I asked you not too. 

The thing is, I never made a conscious decision to stop, I wasn’t even aware that I hadn’t sworn until he pointed it out. 

Even having read the chimp paradox I do not understand what’d happened. 


6 thoughts on “Another assertion anecdote 

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back frequently!

    Like

  2. We absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content
    for yourself? I wouldn’t mind producing a post
    or elaborating on most of the subjects you write with regards to here.
    Again, awesome web site!

    Like

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and
    I find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

    Like

  4. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

