Technology for better or worse 

In my almost 45 years,  we’ve seen the dawn of:

  • home computers, 
  • Mobile phones
  • Tablet computers 
  • Social media 
  • Drones 
  • Satellite navigation 

even fishing is benefitting from technology. 

But having started reading Emma Tripplet’s new book Stepping out of the clouds I as you if it’s such a good thing. 

Not only is everything done for us to the point we don’t hardly have to think, but it’s intrusive.

I was fishing a few years back when a fellow angler came over and said “mate I’m a ln emergency plumber and I’ve got a short call out, do you mind keeping an eye on my gear!” 

Not only does this show how trusting the fishing fraternity is, but it’s evidence of the intrusive nature of mobile phones. 

Whilst sat navs are a decent tool, that is solely what they are. You don’t learn your route any more,just rely on the navigator. 

I was working a few years back with a young Porter, who was also meant to navigate for me, well that day the electronics failed, he was panicking as he could not read a map. Thankfully I could. 

Technology is supposed to make life easier. But I ask you if it’s make it too easy?

Leave a Reply

