What’s changed

image

Let me introduce you to someone who’s been there for me thick and thin,  my dear old mum.
Wearing a home made bonnet,  which was for her majesty’s 90th birthday.

Mum was embarrassed,  and disappointed to arrive at her party to find she was the only one to have made the effort of adapting her own hat rather than buying a cheap plastic one. All the members of the party were of an age to have lost someone,  so they were mostly of mums era.
Well mum told me and my fiance Louise,

image

whilst out last night for a meal, which she had invited us to.
Well we both said the same thing, you shouldn’t be embarrassed for making an effort, you did what you always did.
You made the effort and should be praised.

The reason I raise this is, it seems to highlight a shift in lifestyle, mum always use to make my brother sister and my outfits for fancy dress events, I can remember some notable ones, the toy soldier winning second on a competition during a cruise on the rhine, and my equally patriotic outfit fir the Queens 25yr jubilee in 1977.
So I again I ask you What’s changed?

Leave a comment